Ask a question
Baikal Museum of ISC SB RAS
The history of Baikal Museum’s collection dates back to the beginning of Baikal expedition of the Russian Academy of Sciences in 1925. The museum is dedicated to the origin, life and research of Lake Baikal. Since 1928, the collection was enriched and improved by the Baikal limnological station of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR. Since 1961, after Limnological Institute of the Siberian Branch of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR was established, the founding collection consists of Baikal fish, stuffed birds and animals, samples of bottom sediments and Baikal minerals, maquettes, various exhibits found during scientific field expeditions.
Baikal Museum of Irkutsk Scientific Center of the Siberian Branch of The Russian Academy of Sciences
Baikal Museum of the Irkutsk Scientific Center of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, received the status of an independent research institution in 1993.
Irkutsk historical and memorial museum of the Decembrists is two memorial estates, located in the neighboring streets: Volkonskiy House Museum and Trubetskoy House Museum.
Ethnographical museum is one of the most popular museums in the city. Nowadays, the structure of the museum consists of 6 scientific departments: the Department of History, Department of Nature, an exhibition department, funds, methodical-information department, library.
Excursion in the ice-breaker “Angara”
We invite you for the excursion in the “Angara” ice-breaker, the oldest saved ice-breaker in the whole world!
The ship-museum "Angara" is the oldest survived icebreaker in the world. Icebreaker "Angara" is located near the dam, which is one of the favorite places for citizen and tourists for walking, cycling and jogging.
Icebreaker "Angara" Museum
The order for the construction of the icebreaker was issued in England to the firm "Sir VG Armstrong" in the end of 1898. The ship was built in Newcastle and then the ship’s parts were delivered and assembled at the shipyard in the village Listvenichnoe (Listvyanka). On August 1, 1900, the icebreaker was put into cargo and passenger services. The icebreaker was built for the purpose of smashing a path through the ice of Lake Baikal.
Irkutsk Regional Art Museum of V.P. Sukachev
Irkutsk Regional Art Museum is the richest treasury of fine art in Siberia. The core of the collection was a picture gallery of Irkutsk mayor Vladimir Platonovich Sukachev, who collected them at the end of the 19th century.
Irkutsk museum of vintage motorbikes and objects of old times
Irkutsk museum of vintage motorbikes and objects of old times opened its doors for the residents and visitors of Irkutsk. You can visit the exhibition of vintage motorcycles, sit behind the wheel of the historic bikes and make a memorable photo. Everything is done in the spirit of good old USSR. Here there are collected the antiquities of the Soviet era, creating an atmosphere of immersion in the past.
Sukachov Manor House
The manor, created in the 1880s, was owned by V.P. Sukachov, the well-known patron of the arts and the founder of the picture gallery. V.P. Sukachov inherited a large fortune from the Trapeznikov merchants, including a mansion at the Melochny Bazar (now it’s the building of the Irkutsk Regional Court). But V.P. Sukachov found an inherited mansion uncomfortable for living due to its size. The Sukachov family acquired a plot of land in the suburbs of the city, next to streets Jerusalimskaya (now the 1st Sovetskaya), Laninskaya (Dekabrskikh Sobyty), Solomatovskaya (Karla Libknekhta). V.P. Sukachov built a manor consisted of a mansion, guest house, lodge and accompanied buildings. The manor territory housed an art gallery and a school for girls from poor families.
The Taltsy architectural and ethnographic museum
In the early 60's of XX during the construction of the Ust-Ilimskaya HPP, it was decided to save unique monuments of history and architecture of all-union significance - the Spasskaya gateway tower (1667) and the Kazan Church (1679) of the Ilimsky ostrog, which were in the zone of the forthcoming flooding of the Ust-Ilimsky Reservoir. During this period, the problem of preserving monuments of unique wooden architecture was raised in the Soviet Union for the first time. In some regions of the country there were attempts to create open-air museums. Irkutsk oblast was among the few where it was managed to be done.